top of page

Babysitting

Hi everyone! I know it's been a while, and I just thought that this would be an exciting topic to explore.


Here in this post, you will learn all about:


- How to become a babysitter: tips and tricks - Where to get help

- A book I use

- What to use for advertisement

- Good slogans/titles for flyers, etc


First of all, I want to tell you that these are my tips and you do not need to follow them!


How to become a babysitter: tips and tricks


First of all, to become a babysitter and for people to trust you with their kids, you need to do some sort of babysitting course. I took the Canadian Red Cross Babysitting Course in the summer of 2022. It took a week from 9:00-12:00 each day, five days. I loved every minute. I defiantly recommend it for others to try. I did it with my friends, and it was super cool! My other friend did this course in one day. Hers was a 7-hour course.


One of my most important tips is: START WITH FAMILY FRIENDS!!! If you start with family friends it is easier, and you know the kids. You also don't have to advertise! I think it is way simpler and defiantly easier.



Where to get help!!!

Help is always there. It is your choice whether you want to use the help or not. Sometimes, as a babysitter, you feel really stressed, and you just need help, and that is totally okay! Some help can come from:

- your parents/guardians

- the kid's parents/guardians

- a counsellor

- a therapist


There are also many many sites that help if you want to talk to someone anonymously.

Some like:

-

A book I use

Different people need different things to help them learn. I learned from a course, and therefore, I was given a manual in that course. It is called Red Cross Babysitting Manual .

This is a manual that guides you through the different scenarios, and how to deal with them. It is a 106 page manual, explaining different things. It really helped me not just because it was given to me through my course, but also because I can take it with me on babysitting jobs. It covers everything. From what to do when a kid gets angry, to CPR. This is what helped me, and is still with me, and I take it to every job I have.


What to use for advertisement

Advertisement can be a big issue on young people's hands. It is hard to advertise yourself, yet still sound strong. There are meany types of things you can do to advertise yourself. Here's a few of them:

-Create a website

This can be hard. You can create a website that is just for you and close friends and family, or more public. It is up to you. In this website you can talk about who you are, what you do, how much you ask for, how old you are, how late you can stay up, and more. It depends really, on what you want to share. Although it is up to you, I truly suggest that you talk about yourself a bit, so people know you. I also advise you to write how much you ask for. Unlike a flyer, you have an unlimited amount of room to write whatever you wish.


-Make flyers

Flyers are a difficult thing to do. You have to write as little writing as possible, in a big font and highlighted colour, so people can see it from afar. The things I would recommend writing would be; how old you are, what you charge, your phone number/email, a logo, (if you have one. This is not a very important thing, yet it can be eye catching. There are many sites you can design a logo for free on if you wish.) and if you have a good photo of you. You can put the flyers on big boards of information, streetlights, etc.


-Use word to mouth marketing

This is the easiest thing way to spread your babysitting services, without having to do much.. In this, all you have to do is babysit a close family friend, and when you're done, say "If you liked it, don't forget to tell your friends!" and if they liked it, they will!


These are just a few things you can do to get clients. I specifically use the word to mouth one, but all of them are great!


Good slogans/titles for flyers, etc

There are many eye-catching slogans/titles you can write/say for advertising.


Here are some slogans I liked most from Starterstory.com :

-The passion for babysitting never stops

-Every child is important

-Babysitting to perfection

-Taking care of your child is our passion

-Busy schedule? We got you

-More than just babysitting

-The best babysitters are here

-The real deal when it comes to babysitting

-Babysitting industry just got better

-We make sure that your child is safe

And many many more!


Here are some titles I liked most from brandongaille.com:

-Professional service. Quality care.

-We are childcare professionals.

-Because dazzling parents need time off!

-Always there!

-A glowingly brilliant service!

-A happy childhood lasts a lifetime.

And many many more!


I thank you for taking the time to read my post, and I hope to post more in the future,

~A




Recent Posts

See All

A Simple Skincare Routine; Tips & Tricks

Hi guys! I know It's been a while, and I know I can't really commit to doing this often, but, here I am! A little update on me right now: I am in Grade 7, and it's getting hard. We are learning diffic

bottom of page